Day 1

18 Feb

Today was day one of my diet.  Overall, it went pretty well.  I get 44 points per day with Weight Watchers and hit exactly that.  As I get my body back on track and used to eating smaller, I’ll get to the point where I never reach my daily point allotment.  But for now, I’m just trying to stay on target.

Here’s a breakdown of how I did – food wise:

apples2 - CopyBreakfast

I usually never eat breakfast.  Today I had a green apple and a tablespoon of reduced fat peanut butter.  Was delicious and filled me up – but by 10am I was hungry again.  I’ve often found when I skip breakfast – I can go until 2 or 3pm without feeling hungry.  But eating breakfast triggers it.  I know it’s an important meal though, so I’ll keep trying.

Lunch

A Weight Watchers smart ones mini cheeseburger and some Special K cracker chips.

Snacks

Around 2pm, I became really hungry.  Had mandarin oranges, a 100-calorie small pack of chocolate chip cookies, and some popcorn.  In the grand scheme of things, not terrible points wise.  But I hate that I’m having to snack.

Dinner

Homemade meatloaf and sweet white corn.  This was the big meal of the day – consisting of 1/2 my entire points for the day (22 total).  The good news is I’m full.  Thanks to a small weight watchers mint chocolate chip ice cream cup for dessert.

I know each day is going to get easier.  Today was not easy.  I feel discouraged because I hit my points – something I have never done in the past.  But I know each day will improve.  I’m the heaviest I’ve ever been in my life and have been eating really poorly for a long time now.  I’m 20 or so pounds heavier than I was the last time I started.  It makes sense, I think, that this go round is harder.  Just have to stick to it!

Didn’t exercise today – must remedy that tomorrow.

10 Responses to “Day 1”

  1. ModernIdeals February 18, 2013 at 10:48 pm #

    Don’t feel bad! I’ve never been able to focus enough for Weight Watchers, I’m hoping you can inspire me! I’ve found the following schedule really helps curb any random cravings and gets me through the day without feeling horrible. So far following it I’ve lost 5.5 lbs in about 3 weeks, no exercise involved yet (I have some physical limitations that make exercise a trial).

    Between 7 and 8 AM – breakfast
    Around 10 AM – snack (consisting of veggies and/or fruit)
    Around 11:30/12 – lunch
    Between 2 and 3 – snack (again, veggies or fruit)
    Between 6 and 7 – dinner (sometimes this is only a homemade smoothie)

    My mother (who is a Weight Watchers lifetime member) told me sometimes you even eat when you aren’t physically hungry, so even around 10 and 2 if I’m not hungry I’ll cut up an apple or grab a handful of carrots. Whatever the reason it seems to be working, even when I was so sick recently had to adjust what I was eating (to accommodate medication).

    Not saying this will work for you at all, just my two cents. I’m currently at 245.5, which needlessly to say puts me in the morbidly obese category, and just shy of 30, so I’m right there with you!

    • weightlossgal February 19, 2013 at 11:47 am #

      I love this plan and think this is great – thank you so much for sharing it with me!

      I hope you’re feeling better!

  2. chasingkris February 19, 2013 at 8:04 am #

    The apple and peanut butter looks so yummy!! I think I might have to have that as a snack later tonight!!!

    • nuclearmom4 February 19, 2013 at 11:36 am #

      I also have half my body weight to lose and have lost almost 30 lbs in nearly 3 months. I think the biggest thing to focus on, no matter what plan you use to lose weight, is to cut out processed foods. The processed ingredients are what keep us from meeting our goals. It was uncomfortable to get off of them, but now that I am off of them I feel great! Good luck! I’ll be following your blog from now on. I can relate!

      • weightlossgal February 19, 2013 at 11:45 am #

        Thank you so much for your comment! It’s nice to meet others who are in the same boat I am. I’m going to follow you too so I can stay up to date with your progress. 🙂

      • weightlossgal February 19, 2013 at 11:46 am #

        Do you have a blog? 🙂

  3. iamnannette February 19, 2013 at 2:21 pm #

    Hello! I found your blog right after creating mine for the exact same purpose! I’m almost 23, just had my first child and am morbidly obese and TIRED of it. I’m not on weight watchers because finances are much too tight, but I need to lose 120 lbs to be in my weight range. I’ll be keeping a close eye and I hope we can cheer each other on!

    • weightlossgal February 19, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

      So glad to hear you found my blog! TIRED of it … a feeling I can totally relate to. I think we all just get to the point where we’re over it and it’s time to get rid of all the weight. It took me a long time to get here – but I’m here now. And hoping it’ll work.

      Following your blog too – look forward to cheering each other on. I know we can do it! 🙂

      • steph thompson February 20, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

        Weight loss is tough. Chances are, if you are like me, you’ve tried several times, been successful, and for various reasons, put the weight back on.
        It’s not easy but it doesn’t have to be painful. We control what we eat and how much. My biggest issue was emotional eating and still is. I’m not perfect but after a long time, I’ve realized I’m worth it and I can do this. We all can!
        I’m excited to keep up with this blog and others. We are not perfect, we will make mistakes BUT we will always remember..how SICK of being overweight and unhealthy we are/were and how great this change will be for us, our kids,etc.
        ROCK ON!

  4. weightlossgal February 20, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    ROCK ON!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

Junk Food Girl

A great WordPress.com site

thegoodglutton

A foodie attempts to cook herself thin.

Operation: Fit Mama

A new mom's 100 lb. weight loss journey.

Juniper's Weight Loss Diary

Follow me as I lose sixty pounds!

The Thin Lady Inside

There is a thin lady inside of me wanting to come out!

The Fotographing Fat Kid (But Not For Long!)

On the quest to lose weight. What an epic battle it shall be.

ModernIdeals

A little bit of old fashioned mixed with 21st century realism

Chasing Kris

Weight Loss & Recovery

Dave Counts Calories

Controlling My Weight By Counting Calories

