My Issue With Exercise Is …

20 Mar

beachwalkMotivation.

More specifically – it could be the motivation to do a particular type of exercise.

I’ve shared before that I hate exercising at a gym or at home.  I prefer doing something outdoors.  Walking is my favorite.  I can clear my head and just walk and walk until it’s time to head in.  I love feeling like I’m getting somewhere.  Being able to say, “I walked to so-and-so today.”  Getting on a recumbent bike?  Not the same thing.  Sure, I can say I biked five miles today.  But I don’t feel like I got anywhere.

Does anyone else have the same situation?

I got back on the bike today – but it was a lot of force that got me there.  I’m a planner and I make a daily to-do list.  For my business and for personal things.  I actually wrote exercise on there so I would have something to cross off.  So the shame of not marking it done wouldn’t follow me to the end of the day.

When I did Weight Watchers back in ’07 – I had NO problem exercising.  I walked 5 times a week.  I’d come home from work and immediately hit the road walking.  It was a great wind down to my day and I rarely felt the urge to not do it.  It was even better once I was more in shape and could speed walk.

So maybe that’s where I need to be in this weight loss journey. Outdoors.  In nature.  Doing the type of exercise I enjoy.  And not the type I’m doing just because I know I need to.

I live near the beach.  Maybe that should be next on my list – beach walks!

6 Responses to “My Issue With Exercise Is …”

  1. Steph Thompson March 20, 2013 at 4:40 pm #

    I find if I view exercise as a chore, it’s unlikely that I’ll follow through. You’ve identified the types of exercise you enjoy and you’ve put them on your to do list which are great motivators in and of themselves. Maybe putting ‘walk dog or walk neighbors dog” would be helpful to ensure you get outside and do what you enjoy–you’ll be much more likely to keep it up if you are enjoying it. Nothing makes me relax more than walking my neighborhood w/ some great tunes!

    • weightlossgal March 20, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

      Great ideas as always Steph – thank you! 🙂

  2. perpendicularpessimist March 20, 2013 at 6:00 pm #

    I’m the complete opposite! I love the gym. I hate the outdoors. It’s always so hot all year round . . . granted, I live in south Texas, where we wear shorts on Christmas, and go swimming on New Year’s Eve. Lol. But I agree that you need to exercise in a way that you enjoy! 😀 It will make it easier to incorporate into your every day life if you enjoy doing it! 😀

    • weightlossgal March 20, 2013 at 10:50 pm #

      Exactly! Hoping to switch up my exercise plan soon so I’m back doing the things I love. 🙂

  3. thegoodglutton March 21, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    Great entry- I HEAR YA! I feel satisfied with the gym only when I can attain a certain level of bragging rights over it. I walked x miles and burned y calories- booyah!

    In reading your profile we have a LOT in common! Great job this month!

    • weightlossgal March 21, 2013 at 10:29 am #

      I HEAR YA too — have I said that I love your blog? Your about me section just had me LOLing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

Junk Food Girl

A great WordPress.com site

thegoodglutton

A foodie attempts to cook herself thin.

Operation: Fit Mama

A new mom's 100 lb. weight loss journey.

Juniper's Weight Loss Diary

Follow me as I lose sixty pounds!

The Thin Lady Inside

There is a thin lady inside of me wanting to come out!

The Fotographing Fat Kid (But Not For Long!)

On the quest to lose weight. What an epic battle it shall be.

ModernIdeals

A little bit of old fashioned mixed with 21st century realism

Chasing Kris

Weight Loss & Recovery

Dave Counts Calories

Controlling My Weight By Counting Calories

