M.I.A.

22 Oct

I can’t believe I’ve not blogged since July.  It makes perfect sense, of course, as I’ve fallen off the diet wagon.  Of the 20 pounds I lost on Weight Watchers this go-round, I think I’ve gained 10 of it back.  But truth be told, I’ve been too scared to get on the scale.

I’ve let my Weight Watchers account cancel — after three months of paying for it and not using it.

I’m still committed to this weight loss journey, especially because I’m going to Hawaii in September.  And while I don’t aim to be bathing suit ready – it would be nice to feel comfortable and not self conscious when I’m flying.

There are many things that I hate about being overweight – but one of the most painful aspects was flying.  Five years ago I had a job that required a lot of travel.  After the first two trips, where I had to request a seat belt extender (and was TOTALLY mortified in the process) – I bought an extender so I could stop asking for one.  But even still, there was shame.  I had to rush to my seat before anyone sat next to me so that I could pull my seat belt extender out and get buckled in before anyone saw me.

I was always waiting for the day that I’d get to the ticket counter and they’d tell me I’d have to purchase two tickets.  It never happened – maybe because I wasn’t flying Southwest.

I also always felt bad for whoever was sitting next to me.  And they were ALWAYS thin!  And cursing their luck, I’m sure.

I already feel bad enough about my weight.  Each and every trip just made it worse.

So I’m determined to be down enough pounds that I can fly without needing the seat belt extender.  I’ve got 11 months to go … I’m hopeful!

I’m deciding if I want to go back on Weight Watchers or just track calories and exercise.  WW is great because it keeps me on a very tight rope – but one of the things I hate is all the counting.  Especially when you make something from scratch.  Having to create those recipes is really a doozy.  And I’m just too busy to spend 30 minutes trying to figure that all out.  I also suck at math, which could be why it’s not as fun.

So after several months off – I think Diet 2013 will resume on Monday.  Exercise and healthier eating here I come!

4 Responses to “M.I.A.”

  1. steph thompson October 22, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Way to go!!! Here for support any way you need it!

  2. loveablestef October 23, 2013 at 1:49 am #

    I’ve been there. And then the last time I was on a plane it had been a while and I had an 8 inch tail on my seatbelt. I almost cried. Just a thought, if you hate the WW counting why will you stick with it? Why did you stop it before? What might work better for you? In my experience I only do what I want to do. I don’t last long doing things I hate. Just something to think about as you set yourself up for a win on part two of diet 2013. Go for it!

    • weightlossgal October 23, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

      I struggle with WW … I’ve done very well on their program (42 pounds the first time, 20 the second). But the counting really makes me lose my motivation. Counting calories is simple. But counting four different pieces of nutritional info so I can make recipes and come up with the points … it makes me not want to make homemade meals, which I love, and eventually not want to do WW. I’ve got to figure that out. 🙂 Or just tell myself to stop being silly and put the extra effort into my weight loss plan. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

Junk Food Girl

A great WordPress.com site

thegoodglutton

A foodie attempts to cook herself thin.

Operation: Fit Mama

A new mom's 100 lb. weight loss journey.

Juniper's Weight Loss Diary

Follow me as I lose sixty pounds!

The Thin Lady Inside

There is a thin lady inside of me wanting to come out!

The Fotographing Fat Kid (But Not For Long!)

On the quest to lose weight. What an epic battle it shall be.

ModernIdeals

A little bit of old fashioned mixed with 21st century realism

Chasing Kris

Weight Loss & Recovery

Dave Counts Calories

Controlling My Weight By Counting Calories

