Obesity and Social Anxiety

28 Dec

I’ve been obese now for more than a decade.  It’s not something I’m proud of, it’s terrible for my health and it’s something I’ve been trying to correct.  Fingers crossed!

One of the things I realized recently is that my obesity has started to cause me anxiety … social anxiety.  And it made me wonder … has anyone else had this come about as a result of their obesity?

Here’s my story …

I was a healthy weight until I was 22 years old.  I’m short – 5’2″ on a good day.  But I always stayed around 140 pounds.  It looked healthy on me, and I don’t like to be skin and bones.  I had some curves, some shape.  And I was happy.

I have never been the type of woman who was the life of the party – but I always enjoyed going out, never had issues being in public, etc.  I was always mindful of my appearance and tried to dress nicely … even just for a run to the grocery store.

Now?

Going out in public … even just to run errands … gives me major anxiety.  I hate being seen.  While I doubt I’m being judged by every single person I walk by – I can’t help but feel like I am.

Even just getting dressed to go out stresses me out.  No matter how cute an outfit might look, there’s nothing I can do anymore to hide the fact that I’m terribly obese.  I stretch my shirts, tug them down, and nothing can hide it.  It’s an awful feeling.

One of the things I look forward to most about losing this weight is not feeling so self conscious any time I have to be out in public.  Going back to a bit of who I was pre-obesity.

Has this happened to anyone else? Where your obesity became terribly isolating and a sense of anxiety?  I’d love to hear your story … and how you overcame it!  I am open to ideas … especially as I am a ways off from my weight loss goals.

Leave a Reply

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

Junk Food Girl

A great WordPress.com site

thegoodglutton

A foodie attempts to cook herself thin.

Operation: Fit Mama

A new mom's 100 lb. weight loss journey.

Juniper's Weight Loss Diary

Follow me as I lose sixty pounds!

The Thin Lady Inside

There is a thin lady inside of me wanting to come out!

The Fotographing Fat Kid (But Not For Long!)

On the quest to lose weight. What an epic battle it shall be.

ModernIdeals

A little bit of old fashioned mixed with 21st century realism

Chasing Kris

Weight Loss & Recovery

Dave Counts Calories

Controlling My Weight By Counting Calories

