The Good and the Bad of the Weight Loss Journey

12 Feb

I had an interesting moment this morning.  I realized it was Thursday and I’ve been back on Weight Watchers now for four days.  It feels like just yesterday I started.  Surely that’s a good sign?

I’m a big girl – one who needs to lose approximately 150 pounds.  Wow … when I type that number, I realize that’s a whole other person.  A “normal” sized person.  I’m not going to dwell on that too much because I’ll get discouraged.  But wow, that’s A LOT to lose.  A whole person.

Moving on …

My stomach has been stretched for years and is used to eating, eating, eating.  And while the total number of points Weight Watchers gives me each day are probably enough to feed a small village, my stomach hasn’t caught up yet.  I have moments where my stomach is clearly battling my head.  It wants more food.

I try to eat things that are low to zero points like carrots, apples, etc.  But have you ever noticed that the things that are zero points are the things that don’t fill you up?  It may settle my stomach for an hour – but then it’s right back to making me feel like it’s time to raid the fridge.

On the plus side – I haven’t given in to the urge.  I’ve not gone over my daily allotted points.  I’ve not even touched my weekly extra points or my activity points.  So there’s a positive!

One of the things I really love about Weight Watchers is that I can eat what I want – as long as it’s within my points.  Example: the other night I had a cheeseburger and fries (made at home).

10987008_10205763268346651_7823185671354843949_n

Normally I wouldn’t eat a burger with a bun and fries – but I was trying to get rid of “bad” stuff that was in the fridge.  This yummy meal was within my points and really helps me feel like I’m not depriving myself.  The next time I have a burger – it’ll be without the bun and with some kind of veggies.  It’s an incredibly low point meal and one of my favorites.

I know not every week or even every day will be as easy as this first week has been.  I know there will be times where I do end up using my extra weekly points.  I’m human.

But the important thing is I’m on the right path.  I’m on the path to HEALTHY.  My goal isn’t to be skinny.  My goal isn’t to fit the unreal standards that society puts on women.  My goal is to be healthy.  It’s that simple!

Until next time …

One Response to “The Good and the Bad of the Weight Loss Journey”

  1. missghost February 12, 2015 at 1:32 pm #

    You’re doing a great job! I find that eating about 60 or so of those baby carrots takes the edge off the hunger! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Beautiful Girl In The Ballroom

Ballroom Dancing, Weight Loss, Inspiration, Community

Damn girl, that's a lot of fattitude

Healthy lifestyler and certified nutjob

Junk Food Girl

A great WordPress.com site

thegoodglutton

A foodie attempts to cook herself thin.

Operation: Fit Mama

A new mom's 100 lb. weight loss journey.

Juniper's Weight Loss Diary

Follow me as I lose sixty pounds!

The Thin Lady Inside

There is a thin lady inside of me wanting to come out!

The Fotographing Fat Kid (But Not For Long!)

On the quest to lose weight. What an epic battle it shall be.

ModernIdeals

A little bit of old fashioned mixed with 21st century realism

Chasing Kris

Weight Loss & Recovery

Dave Counts Calories

Controlling My Weight By Counting Calories

